Concreters Sydney provide concreting services across all Sydney suburbs. We can give you a quote no matter where you are!

Please feel free to call us.

Here’s a guide to the various suburbs that make up Sydney and the outer city regions.


The Different Suburbs That Make Up Sydney, Australia

The capital of New South Wales, Sydney is the most populated Australian city. From the CBD on the east cost, Sydney stretches up to 70km to the Blue Mountains in the west and to the Hawkesbury in the North. Last year, in 2019, it was estimated that over 5.3 million people lived in greater Sydney, nearly 65% of all NSW population!

The main regions of Sydney are the CBD, Eastern Suburbs, North Shore, Inner West, Southern Sydney, Western Sydney, the Hills District and the Hawkesbury.

1 – The Sydney CBD is the central business area. To the east is the Royal Botanic Gardens, and Darling Harbour to the west. Suburbs surrounding the CBD include Woolloomooloo, Potts Point, Surry Hills and Darlinghurst to the south, Then Pyrmont and Ultimo to the west, with Millers Point and The Rocks to the north.

Several separate regions exist throughout Sydney. Central and Circular Quay are the main transport hubs with bus, rail and ferry interchanges. Chinatown, Kings Cross and Darling Harbour, are very important locations for recreation, culture and tourism.

2 – Inner West generally includes Burwood, Strathfield, and Canada Bay. The region features medium and high-density housing. Major features in the area include the University of Sydney and the Parramatta River.

3 – Eastern suburbs cover Woollahra, Randwick, Waverley and parts of the Bayside Council. Major landmarks include Bondi Beach, a major tourist site and Bondi Junction. The suburb of Randwick contains the Randwick Racecourse, the Royal Hospital for Women, the Prince of Wales Hospital, Sydney Children’s Hospital, and the UNSW Kensington Campus.

4 – Southern Sydney includes the suburbs of St George area, Sutherland, known as ‘The Shire’. La Perouse, a historic suburb is notable for its old military outpost at Bare Island and the Botany Bay National Park. Cronulla is right next to the Royal National Park, Australia’s oldest national park.

5 – Northern Sydney is made up of Upper North Shore, Lower North Shore and the Northern Beaches. The Northern Suburbs includes suburbs of Hornsby Shire, Milsons Point, Ryde, Hunter’s Hill and Parramatta. Chatswood and Gladesville are part of the Lower North Shore. The Northern Beaches area includes Manly, one of Sydney’s most popular holiday destinations. The Northern Beaches area extends south to the entrance of Sydney Harbour, west to Middle Harbour and finally north, to the entrance of Broken Bay.

6 – Hills district generally refers to the suburbs in north-western Sydney – Baulkham Hills, Winston Hills, Castle Hill, Seven Hills and Pendle Hill, among others. Windsor and Old Windsor Roads are historic roads in Australia, being the second and third main roads laid in the new colony.

7 – Western suburbs encompasses the areas of Parramatta, the sixth largest business district in Australia, along with Bankstown, Fairfield, Liverpool and Penrith. Covering 5,800 square kilometres (2,200 sq mi) and having an estimated resident population as at 2017 of 2,288,554, western Sydney has the most multicultural suburbs in the country.